You Gotta Get Up and Try, Try, Try

--

I once joined a Math quiz bee. If, at least I got into the top 3, I will advance to division level. To my dismay, I wrote on my answer board f(x)=x2+2x+1 instead of f(x)=x2–2x+1. The negative (-) sign cost me the slot to the division level quiz bee. I’m seriously disappointed. I was convinced I wasn’t good at anything. I really felt frustrated because deep in my heart, I knew the answer; and yet I failed. That’s just me every time I realized that I did a terrible mistake specially in my walk with God.

I know the verse, I know the songs, I know all the logical and practical approach to the situation, and yet, too many times, I fall short. And just in case you felt like you are running in circles of victory and defeat, I want to remind you, including myself; that God does not require perfection; but progression. Lay down the burden of perfection. We all fall short. (See Philippians 3:12–14)

Do not frustrate, be still and seek God as a loving Father who would reach out to us, held our hand and lead us to the way everlasting. The more we focus on God, the more steps we could make above the water. Let’s not repel God’s hand and try so hard to get up on ourselves. Man, you can’t. Progression is focus. Let’s not focus on our strength and milestones and achievements (and failures), instead, focus on the One who’s enabling us to step further.

The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation. Psalm 118:14

And when we fell, be reminded that our Father is loving. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. (1 John 1:9) Too many times, when we fell to the ground, natutulog pa tayo while crying crying pa in the ground. As much as we really need to feel the pain (because pain demands to be felt. TFIOS) and the consequences and the conviction, so that we could repent wholeheartedly, I personally believe that God wants us to move on from that failure with handful of learnings we could apply on our next battle. Be secured of God’s forgiving nature. There is now no more condemnation for those who are in Christ. (Romans 8:1). Get up and try again. This time, with God. Get up, carry your mat and walk! Sabi nga ni ate Pink, you gotta get up and try, try, try. This is a battlefield. You can’t afford to be pabebe. Be strong and courageous!

For though a righteous man falls seven times, he will rise again. Proverbs 24:16

Every time I face a challenging situation, I always picture God as a supportive Dad, carrying a placard with my name on it, cheering up for me. Isn’t amazing?! Jesus already won the victory and I will do my part in His kingdom. I will fight; a choice I must make every single day. I may be pressured but I am not crashed; perplexed but not in despair; persecuted but not abandoned; struck down but not destroyed. I may fall but I will get up and keep the faith.

Shake yourself from the dust, rise up, O captive Jerusalem; Loose yourself from the chains around your neck. Isaiah 52:2

--

--